Delhi Assembly Election 2020

The 7th Delhi Legislative Assembly election 2020 will be held across the 70 constituencies on February 8, according to the schedule announced by the Election Commission of India. The result of the Delhi Assembly polls will be announced on February 11.

There are 70 seats in the Delhi Legislative Assembly. In the 6th Delhi Assembly elections, held in 2015, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) had got a landslide victory, bagging 67 seats. The remaining three seats went to the main Opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), while Indian National Congress (INC), which had served three consecutive terms in the Delhi government under Sheila Dikshit, was not able to open its account. AAP Convenor Arvind Kejriwal, who contested from New Delhi seat, was elected the chief minister, and Manish Sisodia, who won the Patparganj seat, became deputy chief minister.

In Delhi election 2020, AAP is seeking to retain power with a majority. In these elections, electors are allowed to carry their smartphones at polling stations in 11 Assembly constituencies for accessing QR codes downloaded from the Election Commission’s voters' helpline app if they forget to get voters' slip to the booth. If there is some issue in downloading the QR code or there is a network issue, the phone would not be allowed; they would have to be deposited at a locker kept a little before the polling compartment area.

There are 13,750 polling booths at 2,689 locations across Delhi. Over 14.6 million voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the February 8 election, according to the final electoral roll published. There are a total of 14,692,136 voters — 80,55,686 males, 66,35,635 females, and 815 belonging to the third gender — in the final voters' list. Compared with the final voters' list in 2019, the number of voters in Delhi has increased by 996,000 in the final roll of 2020 (up to January 1).