Keep abreast of the latest in business. Get notified about stories and events as they happen.
Home + -
Markets + -
Companies + -
Opinion + -
Specials + -
Technology + -
PF + -


Sports + -

Elections + -

ASIA CUP 2022 Points Table View full table

Teams P W L PTS
Afghanistan 1 1 0 2
India 1 1 0 2
Pakistan 1 0 1 0
Sri Lanka 1 0 1 0
Bangladesh 0 0 0 0
Hong Kong 0 0 0 0
Qualified for playoffs

About Asia Cup 2022

Asia Cup is a cricket tournament where Asian teams compete for continental supremacy. The first Asia Cup was played in 1984, just one year after India's first World Cup triumph. After becoming the world champion in 1983, India was crowned the Asian champion in this tournament. It was played between India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates.

In 1988, India won the Asia Cup again in Bangladesh. This was a multinational tournament. India defeated Sri Lanka in the final to clinch the trophy. In 2004, Hong Kong and UAE, two associate members of the ICC, also took part in the tournament for the first time.

From being only a One Day International competition, the tournament's character changed in 2016 when T20 Internationals were introduced. It was decided that the tournament would be played in both ODI and T20I formats on an alternate basis. In the first Asia Cup in the T20I format, India defeated hosts Bangladesh in the final to lift the trophy. In 2018, the Asia Cup returned to the UAE after a gap of 23 years. India was crowned the Asian champion in this tournament as well. Now, the second Asia Cup in the T20I format is taking place in the UAE. Matches will be played in both Dubai and Sharjah.

India has won the Asia Cup a record seven times, including the inaugural T20 edition. Sri Lanka has won it five times, while Pakistan has won twice. Bangladesh has made three finals but has always finished runners-up.