The Australian hockey team is a dominant force in the world of Hockey. Since 1980, the Australian men’s hockey team has finished on the podium in a large number of tournaments. Currently, the team is ranked first in the Federation of International Hockey’s world rankings. In 2019, it played 18 international games, of which it won 14 and lost only two.
The Australian hockey team will play its first game of the FIH Hockey Pro League 2020 on January 25 against World Champions Belgium. It will be led by Aran Zalewski under Chief Coach Colin Batch. The team is supervised by Hockey Australia, which is the apex body for Hockey in that country.
The Australian men’s hockey team, or the Kookaburras, is the only team in any sport to have won a medal in every Olympic Games between 1992 and 2012, and ended up in top four in all Olympics between 1980 and 2012. Despite its dominance, it was said that a ‘curse’ was afflicting the team due to which it could not win a gold medal at the Olympics. The ‘curse’, however, was finally shed in the 2004 Athens Olympics, when the Australians won their maiden Olympic Games gold in hockey. In the previous Olympic Games, held in 2016, Australia finished sixth.
The team has also won the World Cup thrice — in 1986, 2010 and in 2014. The team has also won the Champions Trophy for a record 15 times. The Kookaburras have built for themselves a reputation as one of the most competitive sides in hockey, and the team will try to live up to expectation from it in the big tournaments of 2020, including Tokyo Olympics and FIH Hockey Pro League.
Some notable players
Ric Charlesworth: Only the second person to be awarded with Australian Hockey Hall of Fame award.
Jamie Dwyer: Has won 1 gold and two silver medals at the Olympics; won gold at the World Cup twice; won 6 gold medals at the Champions Trophy; and claimed three gold medals at the Commonwealth Games.