Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is the Chennai-based Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise. Founded in 2008, they play their home matches at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. CSK has lifted the IPL trophy thrice (2010, 2011 and 2018) under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. 
Earlier, this Chennai-based franchise was owned by India Cements Ltd, with N Srinivasan as its chairman. It was transferred to a separate entity named Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd after a Supreme Court ruling in 2015. 
Chennai Super Kings is one of the most successful franchises in IPL, having qualified for the playoffs in nine seasons and winning three times. They lifted the IPL 2018 title after coming back from a two-year ban over a spot-fixing scandal. 
Ahead of IPL 2019 players’ auction, they retained their core players Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Shane Watson, Dwayne Bravo, Kedar Jadhav, and Ravindra Jadeja. They bought only two new players – Mohit Sharma and Ruturaj Gaikwad. The coaching staff of CSK for IPL 2019 includes Stephen Fleming as head coach, Michael Hussey as batting coach, Lakshmipathy Balaji as bowling coach. 
Chennai Super Kings players list
Squad Strength: 25 (17 Indian and 8 Overseas)
Bought in IPL 2019 auction: Mohit Sharma (Rs 50 million), Ruturaj Gaikwad (Rs 2 million)
Retained: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Faf du Plessis, M Vijay, Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Billings, Mitchell Santner, David Willey, Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir, Kedar Jadhav, Ambati Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Karn Sharma, Dhruv Shorey, N Jagadeesan, Shardul Thakur, Monu Kumar, Chaitanya Bishnoi
Coaching Staff: Stephen Fleming (head coach), Michael Hussey (batting coach), Lakshmipathy Balaji (Bowling coach), Eric Simons (bowling consultant), Tommy Simsek (Physiotherapist), Gregory Kings (trainer), R Russell (team manager), Lakshmi Narayanan (Performance analyst), Madhu (team doctor), Sanjay Natarajan (Logistics manager)

IPL 2019: Click here to know the present status of Chennai Super Kings in the 2019 edition of IPL