Keep abreast of the latest in business. Get notified about stories and events as they happen.
Home » Cpi m


The Communist Party of India (Marxist), usually abbreviated CPI(M), is the largest communist party of India. Formed at the Seventh Congress of the CPI in 1964, it is the highest body of the Poliburo and it has elected members in state legislative Assemblies of Kerala, West Bengal, Himachal Pradesh, Odisha, Rajasthan and Maharashtra.
The CPI(M) ruled West Bengal, Tripura and Kerala for several years. But at present it has a government only in Kerala. CPI(M)-led Left Front government ruled West Bengal for 30 years only to be ousted by the Mamata Banerjee-led TMC in 2011. In Tripura, the Left Front ruled for 25 years before being unseated by the Bharatiya Janata Party-IPFT coalition.
Unlike in the 2014 Lok Sabha Polls, this time the CPI(M) has decided to field only 45 candidates. It has fielded former Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) students’ union president Kanhaiya Kumar from Begusarai in Bihar. In Kerala, the CPI(M) has announced to contest the Lok Sabha Election 2019 from 16 out of the 20 seats. From MP, Maharashtra, Odisha, Punjab and Lakshadweep, the party will be contesting on one seat each, besides 2 seats each in Tamil Nadu and Tripura.
In Tamil Nadu, the CPI(M) has entered into an alliance with the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) against the AIADMK-BJP alliance. In West Bengal, the CPI(M) has declared that it will contest in 16 Lok Sabha seats.