Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is Shah Rukh Khan-owned Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise, hometowned in Kolkata. KKR plays their home matches at the iconic Eden Gardens. Juhi Chawla and others are the owners of KKR. The official theme song of the team is Korbo, Lorbo, Jeetbo Re (we will perform, fight and win!). Although the team gained immense popularity due to its association with celebrity owners, it performed pathetically in the first three seasons, thereby tarnishing its image. The team's performance, however, improved from the fourth season as it qualified for the IPL playoffs. They lifted the IPL trophy in 2012 and 2014 under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. 
In IPL 2018, they qualified for playoffs but their journey was halted by Sunrisers Hyderabad. Ahead of IPL 2019 players’ auction, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Johnson, Tom Curran, Vinay Kumar were retained, while the franchise bagged Carlos Brathwaite, Lockie Ferguson Harry Gurney among others. KKR is jolted by the injury of young all-rounders such as Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Shivam Mavi but they still have a potent pace attack with Lockie Ferguson, Prasidh Krishna and Andre Russell. The well-settled trio of spinners — Narine, Piyush Chawla and Kuldeep — will continue to stick to its role. 
Kolkata Knight Riders players list
Squad Strength: 21 (Indian 13, Overseas 8)
Bought in IPL 2019 auction: Carlos Brathwaite (Rs 50 million), Lockie Ferguson (Rs 16 million), Joe Denly (Rs 10 million), Harry Gurney (Rs 7.5 million), Nikhil Naik (Rs 2 million), Shrikant Mundhe (Rs 2 million), Prithvi Raj Yarra (Rs 2 million), Anrich Nortje (Rs 2 million)
Retained: Dinesh Karthik, Robin Uthappa, Chris Lynn, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shubhan Gill, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh, Shivam Mavi, Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti

IPL 2019: Click here to know the present status of Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2019 edition of IPL