Mumbai Indians (MI) are the Mumbai-based Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise that play their home matches at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. They are one of the two teams that have won the IPL title thrice (2013, 2015 and 2017). 
Founded in 2008, Mumbai Indians is owned by India's biggest conglomerate, Reliance Industries, through its subsidiary IndiaWin Sports. The team had a disastrous start to IPL 2018, as they lost 5 of their 6 matches. However, they excelled in the later half of the tournament, though that was not enough to book a place in the playoffs. They will look to avoid such a pass in IPL 2019. 
Rohit Sharma and his men will definitely want to forget those matches and redeem themselves this season.
Skipper Rohit Sharma, all-rounder Hardik Pandya and fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah have been retained by the franchise. Mumbai also used their Right to Match (RTM) card to retain all-rounders Kieron Pollard and Krunal Pandya in the IPL 2018 player auction.
Mumbai have a pool of young talent in the form of domestic players like young Ishan Kishan, Surya Kumar Yadav, Anmolpreet Singh and Siddhesh Lad. That should come handy in this year's IPL extravaganza. 
In the IPL 2019 player auction, Mumbai Indians also acquired the services of veteran all-rounder Yuvraj Singh for a price of Rs 1 crore. They have also bought back experienced Sri Lankan pacer Lasith Malinga at his base price of Rs 2 crore. Off-spinner Jayant Yadav has also been acquired by the franchise.
Although Malinga has served Mumbai well in the past, both he and Yuvraj are well past their prime and it remains to be seen how they perform this season. Mumbai had last won the IPL in 2017. They had finished at the top of the points table that season, winning 10 out of their 14 matches. They went on to win the trophy after beating Rising Pune Supergiant in a nail-biting final. But their performance fell dramatically last season when they finished at the fifth spot after winning six of their matches and losing eight.
Mumbai Indians squad strength for IPL 2019: 24 (Indian 16 and Overseas 8)
Bought in IPL 2019 auction: Barinder Singh Sran (Rs 34 million), Lasith Malinga (Rs 20 million), Yuvraj Singh (Rs 10 million), Anmolpreet Singh (Rs 8 million), Pankaj Jaswal (Rs 2 million), Rasikh Dar (Rs 2 million)
Retained: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Kieron Pollard, Evin Lewis, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Jason Behrendorff, Quinton de Kock

IPL 2019: Click here to know the present status of Mumbai Indians in the 2019 edition of IPL