Rajasthan Royals (RR) is a Jaipur-based Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise. RR is one of the original eight IPL franchises when IPL began in 2008. At present RR is owned by Manoj Badale along with other investors. The Pink City franchise won the inaugural edition of IPL under the captaincy of Australian legend Shane Warne, who was also the team's mentor. Rajasthan Royals’ IPL journey has been marred by many controversies. In 2010, BCCI terminated the contract of the franchise but later reversed its decision after reaching a consensus. However, in 2016, Rajasthan Royals was caught in a spot-fixing scandal. The Lodha committee recommended a two-year ban for the team and the BCCI followed it. RR returned to the tournament in 2018 edition. Rajasthan Royals’ home ground is Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. 
Rajasthan Royals went into the playoffs of IPL 2018 season. But failed to make it to the finals as they lost Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in Eliminator. In the 2019 edition of the IPL, Steve Smith returned to the team after serving one-year ban in ball-tampering row. He was appointed as the captain of Royals mid-way in the 2019 season after team's poor show. For IPL 2020, he was appointed as full time captain. 
Rajasthan Royals players list for IPL 2020

Player Team Retained/bought/traded Price (Rs cr)
Akash Singh (uncapped) RR Bought 0.20
Andrew Tye RR Bought 1.00
Anirudha Joshi (uncapped) RR Bought 0.20
Ankit Rajpoot RR Traded in 3.00
Anuj Rawat (uncapped) RR Bought 0.80
Ben Stokes RR Retained 12.50
David Miller RR Bought 0.75
Jaydev Unadkat RR Bought 3.00
Jofra Archer RR Retained 7.20
Jos Buttler RR Retained 4.40
Kartik Tyagi (uncapped) RR Bought 1.30
Mahipal Lomror RR Retained 0.20
Manan Vohra RR Retained 0.20
Mayank Markande RR Traded in 2.00
Oshane Thomas RR Bought 0.50
Rahul Tewatia RR Traded in 3.00
Riyan Parag RR Retained 0.20
Robin Uthappa RR Bought 3.00
Sanju Samson RR Retained 8.00
Shashank Singh RR Retained 0.30
Shreyas Gopal RR Retained 0.20
Steve Smith RR Retained 12.50
Tom Curran RR Bought 1.00
Varun Aaron RR Retained 2.40
Yashasvi Jaiswal (uncapped) RR Bought 2.40