Sharad Yadav is the founder of Loktantrik Janata Dal. He was the National President of the Janata Dal (United) since its formation in 2003 till 2016 -- when he was expelled from the party due to anti-party activities. 
Sharad Yadav won an election for the first time from the Jabalpur Lok Sabha constituency in 1974.  He has won four times -- in 1991, 1996, 1999 and 2009 -- from Bihar's Madhepura Lok Sabha constituency. He was the Chairman of Janata Dal Parliamentary Board from 1989 to 1997. He was the Union Minister for Textiles and Food Processing Industries from 1989 to 1990.
He was the Union Minister for Civil Aviation from 1999 to 2001, the Minister of Labour from 2001 to 2002 and the Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution from 2002 to 2004.
Sharad Yadav is currently not a member of Parliament or the Bihar Legislative Assembly. He was stripped of his Rajya Sabha seat on expulsion from the JD(U). Yadav will fight the upcoming Lok Sabha polls in the Madhepura constituency on a Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) ticket.  
His campaign and subsequent support to a party could be crucial in the electoral outcome in Bihar in the Lok Sabha elections 2019. The seven-phase election in Bihar is scheduled from April 11 to May 19.