Vinay Katiyar started his political journey with Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), the student wing of the Sangh Parivar. He is also the founder-president of Bajrang Dal, the youth wing of Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP). He served as a National General Secretary of BJP, and as a Member of Parliament in both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha. He served as the President of Uttar Pradesh State Unit of BJP from 2002 to July 18, 2004. Katiyar was elected to the Lok Sabha from the Faizabad constituency to the 10th, 11th and 13th Lok Sabha in 1991, 1996 and 1999, and to the Rajya Sabha as a representative of Uttar Pradesh in 2012.