Bhuvi demolishes South Africa's top order; Rahane dropped for 1st test

Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Photo: BCCI
South Africa won the toss and opted to bat against India in the first Test beginning here on Friday. Bhuvneshwar Kumar gave India excellent start by removing opener Dean Elgar on duck in the first over of the match.

A fantastic start for #TeamIndia as @BhuviOfficial claims the wicket of the two openers #FreedomSeries #SAvIND

— BCCI (@BCCI) January 5, 2018

Bhuvneshwar also took the wicket of  Aiden Markram and Hasim Amla.

Pacer Jasprit Bumrah will make his Test debut as India decided to pick four fast bowlers including Hardik Pandya and the lone spinner in Ravichandran Ashwin.

The other two quicks picked are Mohammad Shami and Bhuneshwar Kumar, leaving out Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav.

Ajinkya Rahane was dropped and Rohit Sharma will bat at five in his place.

South Africa picked four seamers including Dale Steyn and a spinner in Keshav Maharaj.


South Africa's: Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis (captain), Quinton de Kock, Vernon Philander, Keshav Maharaj, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Kagiso Rabada.

India: Shikhar Dhawan, M Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah.

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel