SC to form new bench for Ayodhya case after Justice U U Lalit recuses self

The Supreme Court will form a new Constitution Bench to hear the Ram Janmabhoomi-Babri Masjid land title dispute after Justice U U Lalit recused himself.

The five-judge Constitution Bench comprising Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi, Justice S A Bobde, Justice N V Ramana, Justice D Y Chandrachud, and Justice Lalit had assembled on Thursday when a petitioner’s lawyer pointed out that Justice Lalit had appeared as a lawyer for then Uttar Pradesh CM Kalyan Singh in 1994, after which the judge recused himself.

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel