Dept of Heavy Industries sanctions 2,636 charging stations to support EVs

Several countries are rolling out electric vehicle charging infrastructure
In order to enhance clean mobility in the road transport sector, the Department of Heavy Industries has sanctioned 2,636 charging stations under the second phase of the Faster Adoption and Manufacturing of Electric (FAME) Vehicles in India scheme. With this, the total number of charging stations planned to be installed across select cities has gone up to about 14,000.

Minister of Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises Prakash Javadekar said that in future at least one charging station will be available in most of the select cities in a grid of 4 Km x 4 km. He said this would boost the confidence of electric vehicles users and encourage OEMs (Original Equipment Manufacturers) to launch the new EV models.

The Department of Heavy Industry had invited Expressions of Interest (EoI) for deploying EV charging infrastructure, from cities with a population of over one million, State/UT capitals, smart cities, and those in special category states.

About 106 proposals from public and private Entities for the deployment of about 7,000 EV charging stations were received.

After evaluation of these proposals as per the EoI, on the advice of the Project Implementation and Sanctioning Committee (PISC), the government sanctioned 2,636 charging stations for 62 cities in 24 states. The proposals were submitted by 19 public entities. Of these 2,636 charging stations, 1,633 will be fast-charging stations and 1,003 will be slow-charging.

The sanction letters to the selected entities will be issued in phases after ensuring the availability of land for charging stations, signing of necessary agreements/MoU with concerned partner organizations like city municipal corporation, Discoms and oil companies. Subsequently, each selected public entities are required to initiate the procurement process in a time-bound manner for deployment of sanctioned charging stations.

How the 2,636 charging stations were distributed
State No.of stations State No.of stations

317 Andhra Pradesh  266
Tamil Nadu  256 Gujarat  228
Uttar Pradesh  207  Rajasthan 205 
172 Madhya Pradesh  159 
West Bengal 
141 Telangana   138
131 Delhi  72
70 Haryana  50
40 Bihar  37
Sikkim  29 Jammu & Kashmir  25
25 Assam  20
Odisha  18 Uttarakhand  10
Puducherry 10 Himachal Pradesh  10

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel