BJP MLA quits party, resigns from all posts in poll-bound Gujarat

Jetha Solanki was one of the parliamentary secretaries appointed by CM Vijay Rupani (pictured). File photo: Kamlesh Pednekar
In a jolt to the ruling BJP in the poll-bound Gujarat, its MLA from Kodinar seat, Jetha Solanki, on Saturday quit the party and resigned from all posts, alleging that Dalits have been facing "atrocities" under its rule.

Solanki, who was one of the parliamentary secretaries appointed by Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, resigned from the post.

Parliamentary secretaries are considered equivalent to deputy ministers and are supposed to help the ministers.

The Dalit leader also said that he was "unhappy" after being told by the party that he will not get a ticket this time.

"I have resigned from the BJP, as an MLA and also as the parliamentary secretary. I have decided to quit as the party has stopped listening to my representations," he said.

Solanki said the party conveyed to him that he would not be given a ticket this time.

"Yes, the party told me that it would not give a ticket to me this time," he said.

"The party tried to convince me not to resign but I have decided not to take back my resignation," he said.

Referring to Una Dalit atrocities case, Solanki said, "Under this BJP government, the Dalit community has faced numerous atrocities. The community is facing a difficult situation."

"During the Una incident, the Anandiben Patel government earlier took some steps, but after Vijay Rupani became the chief minister, his government has not taken any steps for the upliftment of Dalits," Solanki said.

He refused to answer whether he would fight the polls as an independent candidate or join any other party.

Nobody from the BJP commented on Solanki's resignation.

The BJP on Friday released its first list of 70 candidates for the Assembly elections in Gujarat next month.

The BJP is yet to declare its candidate for the Kodinar seat, where elections will be held in the first phase on December 9, and the last date of filing of nomination forms is November 21.

Meanwhile, supporters of senior leader I K Jadeja created ruckus at the state BJP headquarters in Gandhinagar as he was not given a ticket from Wadhwan seat.

"Workers of the Wadhwan constituency are angry as the party, instead of giving a ticket to me, has brought in an outsider," Jadeja said.

The BJP has given a ticket to Dhanjibhai Patel, from the Wadhwan constituency.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.

We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel