IPL 2018 match schedule: Mumbai and Chennai to play opening game on April 7

(Photo credit: Kamlesh Pednekar)
The eleventh edition of the Indian Premier League will begin on 7 April at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The season opener will be played between defending champions Mumbai Indians and comeback team Chennai Super Kings. Apart from the hosting opening game and the final of the IPL 2018, Mumbai host the first qualifier. Chennai Super Kings will also play the last league match on May 20 against Kings XI Punjab.

A total of 60 matches will be played at nine venues across 51 days from April 7 to May 27. The two qualifiers and the eliminator will be played between May 22 and May 25. In this year’s IPL, all the double header- 12 in total – will be played over weekend. Out of 60 matches, 12 will be played in afternoon 48 will be played in the evening. The afternoon games will start from 4:00 pm and evening games will start from 8:00 pm. Earlier in January, the IPL governing council had approved the proposal that evening matches would begin at 7pm and afternoon matches would begin at 5:30 pm. But after IPL franchises’s demand IPL council decided to stick to the original match timings.

In the addition to home bases of the eight franchises, Indore will be the ninth venue in the IPL 2018. Kings XI Punjab will host three of their home games in Indore and the remaining four matches in Mohali.

IPL 2018 Full Match Schedule

Date Matches Venue Time (IST)
7-Apr Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings Mumbai 20:00
8-Apr Delhi Daredevils vs Kings XI Punjab Mohali 16:00
Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Kolkata 20:00
9-Apr Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royal Hyderabad 20:00
10-Apr Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai 20:00
11-Apr Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Daredevils Jaipur 20:00
12-Apr  Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai Indians Hyderabad 20:00
13-Apr Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kings XI Punjab Bengaluru 20:00
14-Apr Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Daredevils Mumbai 16:00
Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Kolkata 20:00
15-Apr Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Rajasthan Royals Bengaluru 16:00
Kings XI Punjab vs Chennai Super Kings Mohali 20:00
16-Apr Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils Kolkata 20:00
17-Apr Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Mumbai 20:00
18-Apr Rajasthan Royals vs Kolkata Knight Riders  Jaipur 20:00
19-Apr  Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Mohali 20:00
20-Apr  Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals Chennai 20:00
21-Apr Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab Kolkata 16:00
Delhi Daredevils vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Bengaluru 20:00
22-Apr Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Chennai Super Kings Hyderabad 16:00
 Rajasthan Royals vs Mumbai Indians Jaipur 20:00
23-Apr  Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils Delhi 20:00
24-Apr Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai 20:00
25-Apr  Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Chennai Super Kings Bengaluru 20:00
26-Apr Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kings XI Punjab Hyderabad 20:00
27-Apr Delhi Daredevils vs Kolkata Knight Riders Delhi 20:00
28-Apr Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians Chennai 20:00
29-Apr  Rajasthan Royals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Jaipur 16:00
Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders Bengaluru 20:00
30-Apr Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Daredevils Chennai 20:00
1-May Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians Bengaluru 20:00
2-May  Delhi Daredevils vs Rajasthan Royals Delhi 20:00
3-May Kolkata Knight Riders vs Chennai Super Kings Kolkata 20:00
4-May Kings XI Punjab vs Mumbai Indians Indore 20:00
5-May Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Chennai 16:00
Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Delhi Daredevils Hyderabad 20:00
6-May Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders Mumbai 16:00
Kings XI Punjab vs Rajasthan Royals Indore 20:00
7-May Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Hyderabad 20:00
8-May Rajasthan Royals vs Kings XI Punjab Jaipur 20:00
9-May Kolkata Knight Riders vs Mumbai Indians Kolkata 20:00
10-May  Delhi Daredevils vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Delhi 20:00
11-May Rajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings Jaipur 20:00
12-May  Kings XI Punjab vs Kolkata Knight Riders Indore 16:00
Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Daredevils Delhi 20:00
13-May Chennai Super Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Chennai 16:00
Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals Mumbai 20:00
14-May Kings XI Punjab vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Indore 20:00
15-May Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals Kolkata 20:00
16-May Mumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab Mumbai 20:00
17-May  Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Bengaluru 20:00
18-May Delhi Daredevils vs Chennai Super Kings Delhi 20:00
19-May Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Jaipur 16:00
Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders Hyderabad 20:00
20-May  Delhi Daredevils vs Mumbai Indians Delhi 16:00
 Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab Chennai 20:00
22-May Qualifier 1 - TBC v TBC Mumbai 20:00
23-May Eliminator - TBC v TBC Pune 20:00
25-May Qualifier 2 - TBC v TBC Pune 20:00
27-May Final Mumbai 20:00

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel