Punjab Assembly by-elections: Congress wins three seats, Akalis bag one

Congress supporters

The Congress won three out of four Assembly constituencies that went to by-poll on October 21.

Manpreet Singh Ayali of Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) won over Sandeep Singh Sandhu of Congress and secured 66297 votes against Sandhu's 51625, from Dakha Assembly constituency.

The rest of the three seats, Mukerian, Jalalabad, and Phagwara went to Congress's tally with its candidates securing an easy win in all these seats.

Indu Bala of Congress won over BJP candidate Jangi Lal Mahajan and secured 53910 votes against rival candidate's score of 50470 from Mukerian. In Paghwara, Balwinder Singh Dhaliwal of Congress registered victory over BJP's Rajesh Bagha by a margin of over 25000 votes.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.

We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel