AAP nominates, BJP fulminates

Three Rajya Sabha seats from Delhi fall vacant in January and the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) nominated its leader Sanjay Singh, Delhi-based businessman Sushil Gupta and chartered accountant Narayan Das Gupta for these seats on Wednesday. Given the party's numbers in the Delhi assembly, all three are slated to win, which made other parties visibly unhappy. Bharatiya Janata Party Delhi unit chief Manoj Tiwari said the AAP had "betrayed" people by nominating "two businessmen" including Sushil Gupta who quit the Congress in November. Delhi Congress president Ajay Maken said when Gupta came to him to tender his resignation he mentioned he had been promised a Rajya Sabha berth by the AAP. Elections to three Rajya Sabha seats from Delhi would be held on January 16.

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel