Shivraj expands Cabinet with 28 ministers, 12 Scindia loyalists inducted

Shivraj Singh Chouhan with Jyotiraditya Scindia in New Delhi. (Source: Shivraj Singh Chouhan)
The Shivraj Singh Chouhan-led Madhya Pradesh cabineton Thursday inducted 28 new ministers, including a dozen loyalists of BJP leader Jyotiraditya Scindia, whose exit from the Congress in March led to fall of the Kamal Nath-led regime in the state.

Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath of office to the new ministers at a function in the Raj Bhawan. The event was organised by following COVID-19 protocols.

Those inducted include 20 cabinet ministers and eight ministers of state. Prominent among the new ministers are BJP MLAs Yashodhara Raje Scindia and Gopal Bhargava.

Chouhan took oath as chief minister for a record fourth term on March 23 this year, after Kamal Nath resigned from the post following rebellion by 22 MLAs of the Congress.

मध्य प्रदेश मंत्रिमंडल का राजभवन में शपथ समारोह

BJP MadhyaPradesh (@BJP4MP) July 2, 2020
The initial "mini" expansion of the Chouhan cabinet took place on April 21 with the induction of five ministers, including two former Congress MLAs close to Scindia -- Tulsi Silawat and Govind Singh Rajput.

Chouhan congratulating the newly inducted ministers said, "We will work together for development, prosperity of Madhya Pradesh and I am confident to get your support in the development of the state."

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel