12 file nominations for 11 Karnataka Legislative Council seats

Twelve candidates have filed nominations for the biennial elections to the Karnataka Legislative Council to be held on June 11 tofill 11 seats, officials said.

Today was the last date for filing of nominations.

Of those who have filed nominations, five are from BJP, four from Congress, two from JD(S) and one independent.

JD(S)'s B M Farooq and S L Dharme Gowda and an independent, SangameshNagappa Chikkanaragund have also filed their nominations.

The election has been necessitated as the term of 11 members of the council, elected by MLAs, will expire on June 17.

The retiring members are B J Puttaswamy (BJP),M R Seetharam (Congress), Motamma (Congress), D S Veeraiah(BJP), Syed Mudeer Aga (JD(S), Somanna M Bevinamarad (BJP),Raghunath Rao Malkapure, Bhanu Prakash (BJP), C M Ibrahim, K Govindaraj and B S Suresh(IND).

Scrutiny of nominations will be held on June 1, whilethe last date for withdrawal of candidature is June 4.

Counting will be held on June 11 itself from 5 p.m onwards.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)