Victory margins for BJP in 24 LS seats of Gujarat grew in 2019 from 2014

BJP supporters celebrate win. Photo: PTI

The victory margins of all but two candidates of the BJP increased significantly in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls when compared to the 2014 polls, as per data provided on the Election Commission website.

Like in 2014, the ruling BJP swept all 26 seats in Gujarat, the highest margin being that in Navsari where its candidate CR Patil won by 6.89 lakh votes against the Congress' Dharmesh Patel.

Patil's victory margin in the 2014 polls was 5.58 lakhs.

As many as fifteen candidates won by a margin of over 3 lakh votes in the 2019 election compared to six in the 2014 general polls.

Only in Dahod and Porbandar parliamentary seats, the margin of victory of the BJP candidates went down when compared to 2014.

In Navsari, Patil polled 9.69 lakh votes while Patel got 2.81 lakh votes.

The victory margin of Vadodara candidate Ranjan Bhatt, at 5.89 lakh votes, is slightly higher than the margin of 5.70 lakh votes with which Prime Minister Narendra Modi had won the 2014 election from the seat.

BJP president Amit Shah won by a margin of 5.57 lakh votes from Gandhinagar seat against his nearest rival, the Congress' C J Chavda.

In 2014, BJP patriarch L K Advani had won the seat by a margin of 4.83 lakh votes.

Darshana Jardosh, the BJP candidate from Surat, won with a difference of 5.48 lakh votes, which is higher than the 5.33 lakh difference she managed in 2014.

Ratansinh Rathod won from Panchmahal seat by a margin of 4.28 lakh votes against the Congress' V K Khant, which was much higher than the victory margin of 1.70 lakh votes with which BJP's Prabhatsinh Chauhan won the seat in the 2014 election.

Hasmukh Patel won the Ahmedabad East seat by a margin of over 4.34 lakh votes against his Congress rival Gitaben Patel.

Bollywood actor Paresh Rawal had won the seat in 2014 by a margin of 3.26 lakh votes.

Dahod and Porbandar are the only two seats on which the ruling party's victory margin went down compared to the 2014 election.

Union minister Jasvantsinh Bhabhor won Dahod by a margin of 1.27 lakh votes, the lowest among all 26 seats in the state. He had won the 2014 election by a margin of 2.30 lakh votes.

In Porbandar, Ramesh Dhaduk of the BJP defeated Congress' Lalit Vasoya by a margin of 2.29 lakh votes, which was lower than the victory margin of 2.67 lakh votes the seat saw in 2014.

Voting was held on all twenty six seats in Gujarat in a single phase on April 23.

The state had recorded an all-time high voting percentage of 64.11 per cent, a rise by 4 per cent when compared to 2014.

As per party-wise vote share data, the BJP got 62.2 per cent of total votes polled, while the Congress got 32.1 per cent votes in the 2019 elections.

This is even higher than the 60 per cent votes the BJP got in the 2014 Lok Sabha election.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.

We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel