Election for 3 RS Kerala seats falling vacant on June 21

The Election Commission today announced biennial polls to three Rajya Sabha seats from Kerala, including the one held by upper house deputy chairman P J Kurien, falling vacant on July 1.

The election would be held on June 21 for which the notification would be issued on June 4, the poll panel said.

Kurien (Congress), Joy Abraham (Kerala Congress-M) and C P Narayanan (CPI-M) are retiring on July 1.

As of now, out of the nine RS seats in the state, three each are held by Congress and CPI (M) and one each by Kerala Congress-M, IUML and an Independent member.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel