G20 nations imposed 28 new trade-restrictive measures in 6 months: WTO

The G20 countries have imposed as many as 28 new trade-restrictive measures such as tariff increases, import bans and stricter customs procedures for imports between mid-May and mid-October 2019, according to a WTO report.

G20 members include India, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, Japan, Russia, the UK, and the US, among others.

"In terms of numbers, G20 economies implemented 28 new trade-restrictive measures between mid-May and mid-October 2019, mainly tariff increases, import bans and stricter customs procedures for imports," according to the WTO's trade monitoring report.

It said these trade restrictions among G20 economies remain at historic high levels.

The restrictive measures cover an estimated USD 460.4 billion worth of traded merchandise, an increase of 37 per cent over the same period previous year.

With restrictions accumulating over time, the share of global trade covered by such measures has soared, the report said.

Commenting on the report, WTO Director-General Roberto Azevedo called on G20 economies to de-escalate trade tensions to spur investment, growth and job creation.

"Historically high levels of trade-restrictive measures are having a clear impact on growth, job creation and purchasing power around the world. We need to see strong leadership from G20 economies if we want to avoid increased uncertainty, lower investment and even weaker trade growth," he said.

Further, the report said a total of 36 new measures aimed at facilitating trade, including eliminating or reducing import tariffs, and export duties.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.

We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel