Govt lists monsoon bill to legally back delimitation in 4 NE states

Now, it is bringing a bill to amend the RP Act to allow the delimitation panel to carry out the exercise in the four northeastern states as an agency or arm of the EC

The government has listed a bill for discussion in the upcoming monsoon session of Parliament to amend an electoral law to give legal backing to the recently-formed Delimitation Commission to redraw the constituencies of four northeastern states.

The proposed "The Representation of People (Amendment) Bill, 2020" seeks to amend section 8A of the Representation of the People Act, 1950, according to a Lok Sabha bulletin.

In March, the Law Ministry had notified the creation of a Delimitation Commission to redraw the Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies of Assam, Manipur, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh and the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir.

In June, former Election Commission legal expert S K Mendiratta told the poll panel that the notification was illegal as Parliament has mandated the EC to carry out the delimitation exercise in the four northeastern states under section 8A of the RP Act.

The EC forwarded the letter of Mendiratta to the Law Ministry.

The government agreed to the concerns raised by Mendiratta, sources aware of the development said.

Now, it is bringing a bill to amend the RP Act to allow the delimitation panel to carry out the exercise in the four northeastern states as an agency or arm of the EC, the sources said.

In February, the government had cancelled its earlier notifications, which deferred delimitation in Assam, Nagaland, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh due to security issues, saying the exercise could be carried out "now" as the previous circumstances cease to exist.

The order pointed out that a Delimitation Commission was set up under the Delimitation Act, 2002 to readjust the division of each state and Union Territory into territorial constituencies for the purpose of Lok Sabha and state Assembly elections on the basis of the census figures of 2001.

The commission completed the delimitation exercise and the Delimitation Order, 2008 in respect of all the states, except these four northeastern states, it had said.

Following this, it set up the Delimitation Commission to redraw the constituencies of the four northeastern states, along with those in Jammu and Kashmir.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.

We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel