HC dismisses DMK plea for disqualifying OPS, 10 AIADMK MLAs

The Madras High Court today dismissed a petition by DMK seeking disqualification of Tamil Nadu Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and 10 other AIADMK MLAs for having voted against the Palaniswami government last year.

A bench of Chief Justice Indira Banerjee and Justice Abdul Quddhose dismissed the petition by DMK whip Sakkarapani.

The petitioner had contended that by voting against the trust motion these MLAs had violated the whip issued by the ruling party and hence attracted disqualification under the anti-defection law.

Palaniswami eventually won the vote by a margin of 122-11.

Panneerselvam had opposed the petition saying the whip was issued only to the 122 MLAs who were staying in a resort then and not to his erstwhile group.

He was made deputy chief minister after the group and the other faction led by Palaniswami merged in August.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)