Odisha govt to upgrade schools for science education of SC, ST

Odisha government has decided to upgrade an additional 21 high schools to higher secondary schools for SC and ST students to provide science education to them, official sources said.

ST & SC Development, Minorities & Backward Classes Welfare Minister Ramesh Chandra Majhi said the new upgraded higher secondary schools will come up in Gajapati, Kandhamal, Sundergarh, Nabarangpur, Koraput, Rayagada, Malkangiri, Kalahandi, Mayurbhanj and Balangir districts.

These will be science stream higher secondary schools, he said.

The state government had earlier upgraded 26 High Schools of Mayurbhanj, Gajapati, Kalahandi, Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Sundargarh, Rayagada, Malkangiri, Nabarangpur districts into higher secondary schools in the science stream till 2017-18.

These schools are run by the SC/ST development department, officials said.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)