2022 Qatar World Cup to kick start from Nov 21; final on December 18

The final start at 8:30 pm IST on December 18 at the 80,000-capacity Lusail Stadium

The 2022 World Cup will have four games every day in a 12-day group stage and matches later in the tournament that go into extra time will extend past midnight in Qatar.

Fifa released the schedule for the first World Cup to be played in November and December on Wednesday, with kickoff times at 3:30 pm IST (1000 GMT), 6:30 pm IST (1300 GMT), 9:30 pm IST (1600 GMT) and 12:30 am IST (1900 GMT).

"Once the pairings are known, the possibility will be discussed of providing a more beneficial kickoff time for audiences at home, or indeed for fans in Qatar with regard to the stadium allocation," FIFA said in a statement.

Host Qatar will open the Middle East's first World Cup in the 60,000-capacity Al Bayt Stadium at 3:30 pm IST on Novemebr  21. The final start at 8:30 pm IST on December 18 at the 80,000-capacity Lusail Stadium.

Eight venues in close proximity to Doha will be used at the tournament, which will be played in 28 days rather than the 32 days used at the last World Cup in Russia to minimise the disruption to the European season.

 

 

Teams and fans will not need to fly around Qatar because stadiums are within a 30-mile radius.

Both semifinals like some games in the previous rounds will kick off at 12:30 pm IST and will spill over into the next day if there is extra time, or even just long injury and VAR delays in regular time.

There is no space for a gap without games between the group stage and round of 16. Most teams will get three days of rest between games, which Fifa said was "optimum for sporting performance."

But teams in two last-16 matches will only have two days of rest. For the third-place playoff, one losing semifinalist will have two recovery days while the other has three.

Fifa is looking to stage the draw for the tournament in late March or early April 2022, when 30 of the 32 finalists will be known.

It is the last World Cup with 32 teams before the expansion to 48 nations at the 2026 tournament in the United States, Canada and Mexico.



Dear Reader,


Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.

We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel