Asia Cup 2018, Hong Kong squad: Anshuman Rath to lead HK against India, Pak

Hong Kong Cricket Team. Photo: @ICC
Hong Kong stormed into Asia Cup 2018 defeating UAE in the final of the Qualiers. Earlier, Hong Kong, along with five other teams (Nepal, Oman, Singapore, Malaysia and UAE) battled out in the 2018 Asia Cup qualifier. Anshuman Rath has been named as captain of Hong Kong squad. Fast bowling all-rounder Haroon Arshad and leg spin bowler Jhatha Subramanyan provide fresh energy and an abundance of skill to the squad while middle order batsman Waqas Khan has made a comeback in the squad after being left out of the World Cup Qualifiers held in March 2018.


Hong Kong will join India and Pakistan in the Group A of the tournament. Hong Kong's campaign will get underway against Pakistan on September 16 in Dubai before they take on India on September 18 at the same venue.

Meanwhile, ICC has decided to accord One-Day International status to India and Pakistan's group league matches against Hong Kong in Asia Cup 2018, starting September 15. Hong Kong, an ICC associate member, is yet to get ODI status but have beaten Nepal, who recently earned the ODI status, to qualify for the Asia Cup. When a country doesn't have an ODI status, the matches aren't counted as official One-dayers.


Hong Kong squad


Player  Name Batsman/Bowler/All-rounder
Anshuman Rath © Wicket keeper
Aizaz Khan All-rounder
Babar Hayat Batsman
Cameron McAulsan Batsman
Christopher Carter Wicket keeper
Ehsan Khan Bowler
Ehsan Nawaz Bowler
Arshand Mohammad Bowler
Kinchit Shah All-rounder
Nadeem Ahmed Bowler
Nizakat Khan All-rounder
Raag Kapur Bowler
Scott McKechnie Batsman
Tanveer Ahmed Bowler
Tanwir Afzal All-rounder
Waqas Khan Batsman
Aftab Hussain Bowler