Check India vs England 1st T20 final playing 11, head to head details here

If Indian team management decides to play both Dhawan and Rahul alongside Rohit Sharma, Rahul will most likely shift down the order at number 4. Photo: @BCCI
In the first T20 International of the five match series, England skipper Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to bowl against India in the series-opening Twenty20 International at Narendra Modi Stadium, Motera, in Ahmedabad on Friday. Opener Rohit Sharma has been rested for the first two games, while pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar is back in the side along with Shardul Thakur.

CHECK IND vs ENG 4th T20 playing 11 and head-to-head stats here

Check IND vs ENG 4th T20 live toss and live streaming details here

Left-hander Shikhar Dhawan will open alongside KL Rahul. All-rounder Hardik Pandya will be seen bowling in this five-match series.


India vs England 1st T20 playing 11 

India playing 11: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal.

England playing 11: Jason Roy, Jos Buttler(w), Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Eoin Morgan(c), Ben Stokes, Sam Curran, Jofra Archer, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood.


Check IND vs ENG latest news updates here

England's tour of India 2021

India vs England head to head stats in T20 Internationals

  • Total matches played: 14
  • India won: 7
  • England won: 7
T20Is: IND vs ENG highest and smallest scores, other records

India cricket team vs England in T20Is

  • Highest score 218-4
  • Lowest score: 120-9 
England cricket team vs India in T20Is 
  • Highest score: 200-6
  • Lowest score: 80-all out
IND vs ENG T20Is: Full schedule, timings, squads, free live telecast

India vs England records and stats

First match in T20 history: September 19, 2007 (India won)

Last T20 match: July 8, 2018 (India won)


Here are the squads of both the teams:


India squad for T20s: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Rahul Tewatia, Ishan Kishan (reserve wkeeper).


England squad for T20s: Eoin Morgan (captain), Joss Buttler, Jason Roy, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley, Chris Jordan, Mark Wood, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Sam Billings, Jonny Bairstow, Jofra Archer.

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel