Check India vs England 3rd Test final playing 11, head-to-head details here

India might look draft in all-rounder Hardik Pandya lower down the order which would allow the team management to go with extra spinner. Photo: Sportzpics for BCCI
England won an important toss and elected to bat against India in the third Day/Night Pink Ball Test at Narendra Modi Stadium on Wednesday.

CHECK IND VS ENG 1st T20I playing 11 and head to head details here

Check IND vs ENG 4th Test highlights here

Local man Jasprit Bumrah replaced Mohammed Siraj in the India playing XI along with off-spinning all-rounder Washington Sundar, who comes back in place of Kuldeep Yadav.

England had Jofra Archer, Zak Crawley, James Anderson and Jonny Bairstow coming into the side. The players out from the last match are Moeen Ali, Rory Burns, Dan Lawrence and Ollie Stone.

IND vs ENG playing 11 for 3rd Test

India playing 11: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajnkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Washington Sundar, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah.

England playing 11: Dominic Sibley, Zak Crawley, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Ollie Pope, Ben Foakes, Jack Leach, Jofra Archer, James Anderson, Sturat Broad.

Earlier, the Sardar Patel stadium in Motera near Ahmedabad was renamed as the Narendra Modi Stadium.

The stadium, popularly known as the Motera Stadium, which was recently re-opened after extensive renovation work which increased seating capacity to a record 1,10,000, hosts its first Test match on Wednesday with India taking on England in a a day-night match.

The stadium's new name was announced in an inauguration ceremony that was attended by President Ram Nath Kovind, Home Minister Amit Shah, Sports Minister Kiren Rijiju, Gujarat Governor Acharya Devvrat, and Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Secretary Jay Shah among others.

Check IND vs ENG 3rd Test Day 1 live score and match updates here

Check IND vs ENG latest news updates here

England's tour of India 2021

India vs England head-to-head
  • Overall: 124
  • India won: 27
  • England won: 48
  • Draw: 49
  • Tied: 0 

Check IND vs ENG 3rd Test live toss and live streaming details here

All you need to know about Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera and IND vs ENG tickets

India vs England head-to-head in India (Tests)
  • Total matches played: 62
  • India won: 20
  • England won: 14
  • Drawn: 28


ICC World Test Championship

The India vs England 4-match Test series is also part of the ICC World Test Championship (WTC). India has moved to the second spot on the ICC WTC points table after winning the second Test, while England has slipped to the 4th spot. Notably, New Zealand has already qualified for the ICC World Test Championship final, which is scheduled to take place on June 18-22 at the Lord's cricket ground.

Check ICC Test championship latest news, schedule and points table here

Here are the full squads of both teams:

India squad for 3rd and 4th Test: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav.


England squad for 3rd Test: Joe Root (c), James Anderson, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Dominic Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Zak Crawley, Ben Foakes, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Dom Sibley, Ben Stokes, Olly Stone, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel