Grant Govan in 1928 to Sourav Ganguly today: List of all BCCI presidents

Sourav Ganguly
Considered a protégé of late Jagmohan Dalmiya, former Indian cricket team captain Sourav Ganguly on Wednesday took charge as the 39th president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). This was seen as a welcome move by cricket observers, especially as the board had been run by a Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) for the past two years. During this period, there had been several occasions when CoA Chairman Vinod Rai and member Diana Edulji were seen to be in disagreement and there was a view that an official team needed to be reinstated to steer the BCCI.

The BCCI top job, however, is going to be no cake-walk for Ganguly. With conflict-of-interest rules in place, the former captain will face the challenge of having quality cricketers on board as far as the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) and national selection committees are concerned.

His take on veteran MS Dhoni's international future, Day/Night Test cricket, permanent Test centres will also be dissected.

Besides, his tenure at the helm of BCCI has come at a time when the International Cricket Council has left India out of its newly-formed working group, which might affect the country's share of the ICC revenue.

Meanwhile, here’s a look at all the former presidents of the apex cricket body in the country and when they helmed it:

  Name Tenure
1 R E Grant Govan (1928-1933)
2 Sir Sikandar Hayat Khan (1933-1935)
3 Nawab Hamidullah Khan (1935-1937)
4 Maharaja K S Digvijaysinhji (1937-1938)
5 P Subbarayan (1938-1946)
6 Anthony S D'Mello (1946-1951)
7 J C Mukherji (1951-1954)
8 Maharajkumar of Vizianagram (1954-1956)
9 Sardar SS Majithia (1956-1958)
10 R K Patel (1958-1960)
11 M A Chidambaram (1960-1963)
12 Maharaja F Gaekwad (1963-1966)
13 Z R Irani (1966-1969)
14 A N Ghose (1969-1972)
15 P M Rungta (1972-1975)
16 Ramprakash Mehra (1975-1977)
17 M Chinnaswamy (1977-1980)
18 S K Wankhede (1980-1982)
19 NKP Salve (1982-1985)
20 S Sriraman (1985-1988)
21 B N Dutt (1988-1990)
22 Madhavrao Scindia (1990-1993)
23 I S Bindra (1993-1996)
24 Raj Singh Dungarpur (1996-1999)
25 A C Muthiah (1999-2001)
26 Jagmohan Dalmiya (2001-2004)
27 Ranbir Singh Mahendra (2004-2005)
28 Sharad Pawar (2005-2008)
29 Shashank Manohar (2008-2011)
30 N Srinivasan (2011-2013)
31 Jagmohan Dalmiya (Interim) (2013-2013)
32 N Srinivasan (2013-2014)
33 Shivlal Yadav (Interim) (2014-2014)
34 Sunil Gavaskar (IPL Interim) (2014-2014)
35 Jagmohan Dalmiya (Died in office) (2015-2015)
36 Shashank Manohar (Resigned) (2015-2016)
37 Anurag Thakur (Sacked) (2016-2017)
38 C K Khanna (Interim) (2017-2019)
39 Sourav Ganguly (2019-Present)

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel