IPL 2020: RR vs CSK playing 11, squad, head to head, pitch report details

MS Dhoni and Deepak Chahar. Photo: PTI
MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will be upbeat about its second clash in the IPL 2020 against Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the fourth match of the tournament at the Sharjah cricket stadium on Tuesday.

Check IPL 2020 Match 4, RR vs CSK live score, toss and match updates here

Despite the absence of Suresh Raina and ace spinner Harbhajan Singh, CSK managed to gets its act together in the IPL 2020 opener against arch-rival Mumbai Indians. The side lacked the usual co-ordination between the players, and Dhoni would look to fix that in the early stages. 

All eyes will be on Sam Curran as he impressed with bat and ball in the match with Rohit Sharma's Mumbai Indians. 

On the other hand, Rajasthan Royals would look to pick up the momentum it managed in the later stages of the last season. However, the issue would be the absence of Jos Buttler and Ben Stokes. However, Steve Smith's availabilty will be a major boost for the team. 

Stokes' absence would severely impact Royals' campaign at least in the beginning because of the balance his presence lends to the side.

RR vs CSK playing 11 prediction

CSK tentative playing 11: MS Dhoni (C, WK) Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Kedar Jadhav, Piyush Chawla, Deepak Chahar, Lungi Ngidi.

RR tentative playing 11: Sanju Samson (Wk), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Robin Uthappa, Steve Smith, David Miller, Shreyas Gopal, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, Oshane Thomas, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande.

IPL 2020, Match 4: RR vs CSK Pitch report

The pitch at the Sharjah cricket stadium is likely to help pacers in the begining but the onus will be on spinners to turn the match in their teams' favour. CSK, having already played a match on the ground, would have some advantage over RR. 

RR vs CSK head-to-head

Total matches: 22

CSK won: 14

RR won: 8

No result: 0

RR vs CSK Squads 

Chennai Super Kings: M S Dhoni (captain, wk), M Vijay, Ambati Rayudu, Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, Kedar Jadhav, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Lungi Ngidi, Deepak Chahar, Piyush Chawla, Imran Tahir, Mitchell Santner, Josh Hazlewood, Shardul Thakur, Sam Curran, N Jagadeesan, K M Asif, Monu Kumar, R Sai Kishore, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Karn Sharma.

Rajasthan Royals: Steve Smith (captain), Jos Buttler, Robin Uthappa, Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Manan Vohra, Kartik Tyagi, Akash Singh, Oshane Thomas, Andrew Tye, David Miller, Tom Curran, Aniruddha Joshi, Shreyas Gopal, Riyan Parag, Varun Aaron, Shashank Singh, Anuj Rawat, Mahipal Lomror, Mayank Markande.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.

We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel