IPL 2020: DC vs KXIP playing 11, squad, head to head, pitch report details

Head Coach Ricky Ponting and Captain Shreyas Iyer of Delhi Capitals during a practice session for IPL 2020, in Dubai. Photo: PTI
Delhi Capitals (DC) will lock horns with Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in the second match of the 13th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL 2020). Both DC and KXIP haven't won an IPL title so far, and both will look to start the tournament with a victory.


It will be interesting to see how DC and KXIP pick their respective playing 11s, considering it's a neutral ground for both, and the conditions are different from home.

DC tentative playing 11: Shreyas Iyer (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (WK), Marcus Stoinis/Shimron Hetmyer, R Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Harshal Patel, Sandeep Lamichhane and Axar Patel.


KXIP tentative playing 11: KL Rahul (C&WK), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Glenn Maxwell, Sarfaraz Khan, Krishnappa Gowtham, Mohammed Shami, Jagadeesha Suchith, Mujeeb ur Rehman and Sheldon Cottrell.

Check 2020 IPL latest news and live score updates here  


Dubai weather report


There is no forecast of rain for the city. The temperature is predicted to hover around 33 degrees Celsius. The humidity levels could be around 63 per cent, meaning it will be a hot and humid Sunday evening in Dubai. Humidity levels might rise as the game progresses, bringing dew into the picture.'

Check 2020 IPL full schedule here  

IPL 2020, Match 2: DC vs KXIP Pitch report


The pitch at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium has a minimal grass covering. The conditions should help batsmen initially, but spinners should also get some benefit as the match progresses.


DC vs KXIP head-to-head:


DC 10 – KXIP 14.


DC vs KXIP match prediction


Delhi Capitals has a good mix of talent, with young Shreyas Iyer leading the side. The addition of R Ashwin and Ajinkya Rahane to the mix brings some experience to the side. These veterans have the ability pull any match on their own shoulders. Besides, there are Prithvi Shaw and Rishabh Pant, who can set and upset the pace of any match.

Check 2020 IPL points table and team standings here  

On the other hand, it will be a fresh start for Kings XI Punjab with KL Rahul in the skipper’s role. The side has a strong top order, and it might create some trouble for Delhi Capitals if the pitch favours batsmen.

Here are the squads of both teams:

Full list of Delhi Capitals’ IPL 2020 players, along with their salaries:

Player Team Retained/bought/traded Price (Rs cr)
Ajinkya Rahane DC Traded in 5.25
Alex Carey DC Bought 2.40
Amit Mishra DC Retained 4.00
Avesh Khan DC Retained 0.70
Axar Patel DC Retained 5.00
Chris Woakes DC Bought 1.50
Harshal Patel DC Retained 0.20
Ishant Sharma DC Retained 1.10
Jason Roy DC Bought 1.50
Kagiso Rabada DC Retained 4.20
Keemo Paul DC Retained 0.50
Lalit Yadav (uncapped) DC Bought 0.20
Marcus Stoinis DC Bought 4.80
Mohit Sharma DC Bought 0.50
Prithvi Shaw DC Retained 1.20
R Ashwin DC Traded in 7.60
Rishabh Pant DC Retained 15.00
Sandeep Lamichhane DC Retained 0.20
Shikhar Dhawan DC Retained 5.20
Shimron Hetmyer DC Bought 7.75
Shreyas Iyer DC Retained 7.00
Tushar Deshpande (uncapped) DC Bought 0.20



Here is KXIP’s full squad for IPL 2020:

Player Team Retained/bought/traded in Price (Rs cr)
K L Rahul KXIP Retained 11.00
Glenn Maxwell KXIP Bought 10.75
Sheldon Cottrell KXIP Bought 8.50
Krishnappa Gowtham KXIP Traded in 6.20
Karun Nair KXIP Retained 5.60
Mohammed Shami KXIP Retained 4.80
Nicholas Pooran KXIP Retained 4.20
Mujeeb Ur Rahman KXIP Retained 4.00
Chris Jordan KXIP Bought 3.00
Chris Gayle KXIP Retained 2.00
Ravi Bishnoi (uncapped) KXIP Bought 2.00
Mandeep Singh KXIP Retained 1.40
Mayank Agarwal KXIP Retained 1.00
Hardus Viljoen KXIP Retained 0.75
Prabhsimran Singh (uncapped) KXIP Bought 0.55
Deepak Hooda (uncapped) KXIP Bought 0.50
James Neesham KXIP Bought 0.50
Darshan Nalkande KXIP Retained 0.30
Sarfaraz Khan KXIP Retained 0.25
Arshdeep Singh KXIP Retained 0.20
Harpreet Brar KXIP Retained 0.20
Ishan Porel (uncapped) KXIP Bought 0.20
Jagadeesha Suchith KXIP Traded in 0.20
Murugan Ashwin KXIP Retained 0.20
Tajinder Dhillon (uncapped) KXIP Bought 0.20

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.

We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel