IPL 2020 KXIP vs KKR prediction: Will Gayle find place in KXIP playing 11?

Kings XI Punjab skipper KL Rahul after scoring a century during KXIP vs RCB match at Dubai International Cricket Stadium. Photo: PTI
In match 24 of Indian Premier League 2020 (IPL 2020), Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) will take on Kolkata Knight Riders at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Friday. 


Kolkata Knight Riders would be high on confidence as they come inot this clash on the back of a much-needed victory against MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings

The only issue that has plagued both KKR and KXIP in IPL 2020 is inconsistency. While KKR still put up a good show against CSK in itsprevious clash, KXIP has a tough task ahead. 

Check 2020 IPL points table and team standings here

The batsmen still manage to put up a good show but the bowlers are yet to deliver. 

KXIP vs RR head to head
  • Total: 25
  • KKR won: 17
  • KXIP won: 8

In head-to-head record, the two teams have clashed 25 times out of which KKR has won 17 games. 

Changes are likely in the KXIP playing 11 as KL Rahul may consider bringing Chris Gayle into the equation. 

KXIP vs RR playing 11 predictions

Kings XI Punjab

KL Rahul (C), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Nicholas Pooran (WK), Mandeep Singh, James Neesham, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh and Sheldon Cottrell

Kolkata Knight Riders

Rahul Tripathi, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (C&WK), Eoin Morgan, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Pat Cummins, Shivam Mavi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Varun Chakravarthy.

KXIP vs RR Pitch Report

The pitch at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium favours both batsmen and bowlers. Pacers have been successful at the stadium, while spinners come into play during the middle overs. Batting first would be the ideal option at the venue.


Kings XI Punjab

KL Rahul (C), Karun Nair, Mohammed Shami, Nicholas Pooran, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Mayank Agarwal, Hardus Viljoen, Darshan Nalkande, Sarfaraz Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Harpreet Brar, Murugan Ashwin, K Gowtham, J Suchith, Glenn Maxwell, Sheldon Cottrell, Deepak Hooda, Ishan Porel, Ravi Bishnoi, James Neesham, Chris Jordan, Tajinder Dhillon, Prabhsimran Singh, Agnivesh Ayachi, Harpreet Brar, Murugan Ashwin

Kolkata Knight Riders

Dinesh Karthik (C), Shivam Mavi, Tom Banton, Sandeep Warrier, Kuldeep Yadav, Eoin Morgan, Pat Cummins, Sunil Narine, Nikhil Naik, Manimaran Siddharth, Andre Russell, Lockie Ferguson, Prasidh Krishna, Shubman Gill, Nitesh Rana, Siddhesh Lad, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Rinku Singh, Varun Chakravarthy, Chris Green and Rahul Tripathi

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel