IPL 2020: Warner replaces Kane Williamson as captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner. Photo: PTI

Swashbuckling Australian batsman David Warner has been reinstated as Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) captain ahead of the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2020).

Warner had missed the 2018 IPL season in the aftermath of the infamous Sandpaper Gate controversy wherein he was handed a one-year ban by Cricket Australia. The Australian board had also said that the left-handed batsman will not be considered for team leadership positions in the future.


Earlier, Warner led SRH for three seasons -- 2015 to 2017 -- and helped the team to title win in 2016. The Australian batsman has captained Hyderabad in 45 matches overall, with 26 wins and a win-loss ratio if 1.368. On other hand, Kane Williamson has led the Sunrisers in 26, winning 14 games at a win-loss ratio of 1.272.

However, Warner returned to IPL action last year and played under Kane Williamson for the Hyderabad-based franchise. "I'm thrilled to be given the captaincy for IPL 2020," Warner said in a message posted on the SRH Twitter handle. "I'm extremely grateful to be given the opportunity to lead the team once again.


Announcement#OrangeArmy, our captain for #IPL2020 is @davidwarner31. pic.twitter.com/lV9XAMw6RS

SunRisers Hyderabad (@SunRisers) February 27, 2020

 "I'd like to thank Kane and Bhuvi (Bhuvneshwar Kumar) for the way you guys led throughout the last couple of years, you guys did an outstanding job. And I'll be leaning on you guys for support and your insight to the game as well. And to the management thank you once again for giving me this opportunity. And I'll try my very, very best to lifting that IPL Trophy this year," he added.

In the four seasons he has played for SRH, Warner has tallied 562, 848, 642 and 692 runs -- finishing with the Orange Cap in 2015, 2017 and 2019. With 4,706 runs from 126 IPL games, the Australian opener is fourth in the list of the tournament's all-time run getters, behind the Indian trio of Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina and Rohit Sharma.

Sunrisers will begin their IPL 2020 campaign against Mumbai Indians on April 1 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.

We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

Business Standard is now on Telegram.
For insightful reports and views on business, markets, politics and other issues, subscribe to our official Telegram channel